Last Updated Jan 03,2022

Canadian Immigration is Making Major Changes to the NOC in 2022



As far as immigration has concerned, the year 2021 is known as the year of change. Due to the Wuhan Virus pandemic in the year 2020, the world has almost stopped its immigration process, closed its borders and imposed restrictions. When the year 2021 has begun some of the most positive news has started to come such as the scientist has invented the COVID 19 vaccinations. Humankind is recovering from the impact of the pandemic. Countries like Canada, the UK, and the USA start lifting the flight’s bans except for a few countries. In this duration, in October month, Canada Immigration has declared a pre-scheduled change that made the Canada Permanent Residency aspirants in dilemma. The announcement was “Canadian immigration is going to make the major changes to the NOC format in 2022” So what are the changes the Canadian government has made and what will be the impact? In this article, we are going to discuss the thing and try to give you a clear idea.

About the NOC

The National Occupational Classification (NOC) is one of the most important parts of Canada Immigration. The work experience of the skilled workers and temporary foreign workers can demonstrate through their NOC code. NOC is divided into the skill level like 0, A, B, C, or D, and to qualify under the IRCC’s Federal Skilled Worker Program, or Provincial Nomination Class, or Federal Skilled Trade Programs or Canadian Experience Class candidates need to classify their work experience under the skill type 0, A or B.

NOC Structure Supports

  • The description of the Canadian Labour Market
  • Make the Government’s immigration program streamline
  • Focus on Skills development
  • Analyse the immigration management and foreign worker programs

Significant Changes in NOC 2021

Statistics Canada and Employment & Social Development Canada (ESDC) have done extensive research, analysis, and assessment. They have decided on some of the big changes for the Canada National Occupation Classification (NOC).

As per the structure of the Canadian immigration system, every 10 years, ESDC and Statistic Canada make the changes in structural changes as well as update the content every five years.

ESDC and Statistic Canada have Explained the Changes of NOC 2021 as Per Below

  • The first and foremost change is the identity of the system, which will now be formally known as TEER known as the current system known as the NOC
  • TEER Stands for Training, Education, Experience, and Responsibilities
  • Four level category skilled level structure will be replaced with a new six-categories system.
  • As per the work experience criteria, 2016 NOC has featured four types of skill level
    • NOC A – The job required university degrees
    • NOC B – This category required skilled trades or college diploma
    • NOC C – To qualify under the criteria required intermediate skills or job-specific training.
    • NOC D – Most of the jobs under the criteria are labour jobs that require training.
  • The new system will feature the five tiers hierarchical system. With the update, each NOC will be considered under the five-digit codification instead of four.
  • The skill type (A, B, C, D) will be replaced with the TEER system of six categories (0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5)
  • Additionally, the authorities have also decided to implement the changes in occupation codes 2021 in fall 2022.

Check Your NOC Code

The Purpose of New TEER System 2021

  • This system will delivered the more clarity toward the level of education and work experience according to the occupations.
  • Secondly, this new model will support and clarifies the categorizations between the low and high skilled jobs.
  • One of the basic purposes of the system is set a proper sense of understanding for the skills requirement of each occupation.
  • This system will be delivered more clarity toward the level of education and work experience according to the occupations.
  • Secondly, this new model will support and clarify the categorizations between the low and high skilled jobs.
  • One of the basic purposes of the system is to set a proper sense of understanding for the skills required of each occupation.

Clarification of the New Five Digits Formation

As per the upcoming changes, the new occupation codes will be converted into five digits. Therefore, here are the basic understanding of them

  • The first digit will represent the broad occupational category
  • The second digit considers the TEER Category
  • The first and Second digit together will indicate the major group of the occupation
  • The first three digits cover the subgroups of the occupations
  • The first four digits will cover the minor groups of occupation
  • The full five digits will give an idea of the unit group and occupation itself.


In comparison with the NOC group, 2016 is covering 423 occupation groups whereas TEER Group 2021 will be extended and add 516 occupations. In the bifurcation of the group, there are 58 groups will be added, a total of 30 existing groups divided into new groups. Additionally, 05 groups will be newly formed by a merger of two different groups.

Need Assistance? Reach Out to Us

Hey there! I just wanted to share some useful information with you. If you’re looking to improve your Re-tell lecture strategies, I highly recommend checking out Aspire Square. They have expert faculties who can help you achieve your desired PTE score with ease. Aspire Square offers online and classroom coaching services for PTEIELTS, and CELPIP as well as assistance with all sorts of immigration and study visa processes. You can visit their head office in Ahmedabad or their branch offices in VadodaraAnand and Surat. I hope this helps!

Contact Us